New Book! JUST SAY YES

So, if you read my last post, you’ll know that I have a book coming out this summer–August 25th to be exact!  Entangled Publishing will be releasing my contemporary romance JUST SAY YES in both ebook and paperback.  It’s up on Goodreads if you want to add it to your TBR, and it’s available for pre-order in all sorts of places.

And it’s blurbed by the fabulous Marilyn Brant!!  Here’s what she had to say, (in case you can’t read it on the book cover)…

“A humorous, warmhearted, and magical romance!  Prepare to be charmed.”

 — New York Times bestselling author, Marilyn Brant

YouTube Preview Image

Cover JUST SAY YES-1600pxSingle mom Jade Moran isn’t ready for any big changes in either her horrible ’70s kitchen or her romantic life. Her ex did a number on her, and she isn’t interested in getting hurt again. But when she meets a super-hot contractor, she wonders if avocado appliances are on the way out and romance is on the way in.

Max Gianopoulis doesn’t have a clue why he’s so enchanted by Jade. She’s almost as big a mess as her kitchen, and he’s a guy who likes to keep things simple. He let himself get involved with a previous client, and he’s not interested in repeating the experience. But Jade has turned up the flirty heat—and he can’t keep his hands off her.

With everything moving too fast and coming too easy, Jade’s insecurities kick into high gear. She’s not sure she can trust another man again—and she definitely doesn’t believe in magic.

It’s not mentioned in the blurb, but there is a supper club and a kitchen witch, and sprinkling of magic in this book.  I hope you’re intrigued!

There’s an upcoming blog tour, and I’ll be posting more details on that soon!  So check back!

 

Posted in book news, Just Say Yes on 06/24/2015 07:26 pm | 2 Comments

Artifact ~ BRC

I almost didn’t review this month–I’ve had a few re-reads and read a few books that didn’t inspire me to review, but then I downloaded Artifact by Gigi Pandian just before I went on vacation (for $2.99 on ebook!), and there were so many things I liked about it that I decided I needed to post a review.  (Look at me, reviewing an adult book!)

ARTIFACT-cover-1-Henery-Press-June-2013From Amazon:

When historian Jaya Jones receives a mysterious package containing a jewel-encrusted artifact, she discovers the secrets of a lost Indian treasure may be hidden in a Scottish legend. But she’s not the only one on the trail. From San Francisco to the Highlands of Scotland, Jaya must evade a shadowy stalker as she follows hints from the hastily scrawled note to a remote archaeological dig. Helping her decipher the cryptic clues are her magician best friend, a devastatingly handsome art historian with something to hide, and a charming archaeologist running for his life. When a member of the dig’s crew is murdered, Jaya must figure out which of the scholars vying for her affections might be the love of her life—and which one is a killer.

You may think this summary implies the book has a heavy romance bent–it doesn’t.  The romance is mostly covered by a few scattered words like, “intense” and “passionate.”  But it definitely adds a bit of tension and suspense all its own.

By now I assume you’re on the edge of your seat wondering what I liked about this book.  Read on as I tell all…

1.  Jaya Jones.  Seriously, that is a great name for an adventure heroine, and she doesn’t disappoint.  She’s a tiny (under 5′), 30ish South Indian history professor in San Francisco, and she plays the tabla (drums) at an Indian restaurant.  She’s smart and feisty, she eats like she means it, and she’s thoroughly unsentimental.  Basically, she’s a chick who gets things done.

2.  Supporting characters!  From the Russian landlady (Nadia) to the North Indian sitar player/magician/best friend (Sanjay), to the mysteriously attractive graduate student (Lane) who teams up with Jaya to get busy on this mystery, not to mention a slew of minor characters.  They were all pretty fascinating.

3.  The mystery of Lane was *quite* satisfying.  I won’t say any more–no spoilers.18518215

4.  An anything goes mentality: A ruby bracelet falls into her hands -> she teams up with Lane and sets off for the British Museum (where she has connections because of her graduate work).  They stumble over a clue -> they set off for an archaeological dig in the Scottish Highlands.  They’re bouncing around at the drop of a hat, and as a hardcore planner, I enjoyed the freedom.

5.  The historical element.  The author wove in a lot of historical detail quite legitimately, given Jaya’s academic background, and it was pretty much all relevant to her solving the mystery.  Very interesting.

I’m back from vacation and have bought the second book in the series (also for $2.99), and I’m already enjoying the new historical direction.  If I buy the third, I’m going to have to cough up a whopping $4.99, but I think it’ll be worth it.

So.  If you like historical mysteries, unique, spunky heroines, and a dash of romance, I recommend you give the Treasure Hunt Mystery series a try!  For more reviews, click through on the typewriter.  And have a great summer–we’re back in September!

* In other news…the cover for my August 2015 release was revealed today!  Two months to go!!  *

YouTube Preview Image
Click icon for more
book review blogs
@Barrie Summy
Posted in book review club on 06/17/2015 05:00 am | 8 Comments

If You Find This ~ BRC

Here we are again! For this month’s Book Review Club, I have another middle grade novel to recommend, which is kind of weird. I hardly read any middle grade or YA, but lately that’s all I’ve been reviewing. What can I say?  I’ve discovered some good stuff!

May I present (um, review)… If You Find This by Matthew Baker!

If you, like me, are a fan of the 80’s classic The Goonies, then that just adds another layer of awesome to this book, because it is seriously The Goonies of this middle grade generation. I would LOVE to see this book get made into a movie. So. Much. Goodness.

 

IfYouFindThis

You know I like to start with the covers, and this one has a lot going on. I deliberately attached a HUGE image so you could get the full effect. I love all the details: the house on the hill, the three boys, the background sketching (done by the author), the beam of the flashlight, the silhouettes of houses, and the man standing at the bottom…It all factors into the story!!

Okay, moving on.  From Amazon:

Mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E.L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes’s quest to prove his grandfather’s treasure is real.

Nicholas is a math and music genius with no friends and a huge problem: His father has lost his job, and they’ll have to sell their house, which holds the only memory Nicholas has of his younger brother. Just in time, Nicholas’s senile grandfather arrives, filled with tales of priceless treasure he has hidden somewhere in town–but where?
With the help of misfit classmates, two grandfathers, a ghosthouse, hidden messages, séances, and an uncanny mind for numbers, Nicholas stages a nursing home breakout, tangles with high schoolers in smugglers’ tunnels, and gets swept up in a duel with the biggest bullies in the neighborhood. Will it be enough to find the treasure and save his house?

Sounds pretty awesome, doesn’t it? Well, that doesn’t even do it justice. Here’s a sample page that gives you an idea of how the author has incorporated Nicolas’s musical and mathematical mind.

Happy to the power of jamboree!! Best. Kiss. Ever!

Like The Goonies, this story is about a family poised to lose their house and a treasure hunt that will hopefully help them keep it.  But Nicolas has a bigger reason to want to keep his house than the kids in the movie.  When his baby brother died, they planted a tree in the backyard in remembrance, and that tree has become his brother in his mind.  He “talks” to his brother with his violin, and his brother talks back with the breeze.  If he leaves this house, he’s leaving his brother behind.

There’s kidnapping, secret caves, a decades-old shady past, and plenty of mystery and adventure, but there are also bigger themes: old age and death, bullying, loneliness, acceptance.  This book has a TON going on, but really and truly, it’s about loyalty, friendship, and the courage to do the right thing.  I loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough.  I can’t wait for more books by Matthew Baker.

Click icon for more
book review blogs
@Barrie Summy
Posted in book review club, Uncategorized on 05/06/2015 02:31 am | 8 Comments